Posted by: earthandbeyond | December 13, 2008

Who cares?

Ok, so this isn’t about space or science, but more of an irritation I had when I was on yahoo.com.  See this? This was linked to from the main yahoo page.  Why?  It’s juvenile commentary on what an Olympic athlete happened to wear one day.  I don’t see what’s wrong with it.  They call it a fashion faux-pas.  I call it clothes that she probably feels comfortable wearing.  The photos on that website are commented on by some kind of fashion “journalists” who have too much time on their hands, so they say negative things about what celebrities are wearing.  Who cares??  Are these journalists adults?  They seem absolutely devoid of any intelligence.  I’d like to say it again….who cares?

My biggest question is why in the world is something so incredibly stupid and useless on the main page of yahoo?  It’s supposed to provide news.  This is not news.

Responses

  1. I completely agree. I recall about 2 years ago this month where CNN.com had as their main news item a gallery of Britney Spears’ biggest flubs as well as her wardrobe. Seriously, “main-stream” journalism has become what some marketing dolts think the public is interested in, instead of actual important news.

    Oh, and by the way, I finally figured out how to actually have links on the side column of my blog and have posted a link to you. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the comment. I’ve been back in North America for the holidays, and you know what? The media here is horrible. I’m finding that the news is mostly useless. TV is awful. There’s little that I’ve seen on TV that is remotely interesting. Mainstream news has become just like tabloids. It’s shameless. It’s ridiculous.

    Thanks for the link! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

